Monday, December 5, 2011

A domain at the height of the United States Arthur Ashe and Stan Smith

Salad Spain and has five under his belt, fifth country with the most wins in the competition behind the United States, Britain, France and Sweden and milestone achieved in the last twelve centeraria editions of this competition. Only Americans, between 1968 and 1972 champions, had signed a domain so absolute in the Open Era.

Spain in 2000 broke a curse that had led him to lose the two Davis Cup finals were played before. Australia, who beat ours in the editions of 1965 and 1967, succumbed at the Palau Sant Jordi in Barcelona with a quartet that will remain in the annals of history, formed by Albert Costa , Juan Carlos Ferrero , Alex Corretja and Joan Balcells . The 'Aussies' took revenge fulfilled three years later and prevailed in the final at Melbourne Park to Juan Carlos Ferrero , Carlos Moya , Alex Corretja and Feliciano Lopez .

A year later, and as the scene of the game Cartuja, Spain won his second 'punch' to subdue the United States, king of the competition. Carlos Moya , Rafael Nadal , Tommy Robredo and Juan Carlos Ferrero inscribed his name on the list of winners of a tournament that began to take Spanish flavor. In 2008, the 'Armada' could a company that refused to date, earning a home final. Falkland Islands to the stage as witness, David Ferrer , Feliciano Lopez , Fernando Verdasco and Marcel Granollers named staged the 'Marplatazo' to defeat against Argentina prognosis. A year later, giving a good account of its evolution, the Spanish tennis could reissue title for the first time in this competition. Returning to the origins, see Sant Jordi in Barcelona, ​​and this time with the Czech Republic as an opponent, Rafael Nadal , David Ferrer , Feliciano Lopez and Fernando Verdasco were winning for the fourth time the Davis Cup.

The 2011 and again in the final against Argentina, Spain has added his fifth silver scepter. Rafael Nadal , David Ferrer , Feliciano Lopez and Fernando Verdasco have returned to savor the sweetness of the glory and accomplish something, that in all the Open Era -see since 1968 - was only up to the United States, that is, win five Davis Cup in twelve years. The Americans won the five titles made ​​between 1968 and 1972, when Arthur Ashe , Clark Graebner , Stan Smith , Bob Lutz , Cliff Richey , Erik van Dillen , Frank Froehling and Tom Gorman tasted the sweetness of success in this competition.


Post a Comment

Subscribe Now: Feed Icon

Blog Archive